monsternanax.blogg.se

Casting ken park movie
Casting ken park movie












  1. CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE MOVIE
  2. CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE SERIES
  3. CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE TV

Ken” was canned, I finally decided to watch that aforementioned season finale I had recorded, and I have to say, it was very meta.

CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE MOVIE

In fact, Jeong has been cast for a role in the upcoming movie “Crazy Rich Asians,” based on the novel of the same name.Īlso, I have to surmise that Jeong and the show knew the music was about to end. Ken,” Jeong proved that he had the talent and stamina to be the lead of a show. Ken’s” Asian American cast members are now on the radar screens of casting directors, showrunners and the like. Ken.” But things have improved now in Hollywood to the point that it won’t take another 20 years for the next Asian American sitcom. T and Tina” was carried a bit further 20 years later by Margaret Cho’s “All-American Girl” for an entire season, and carried a bit further another 20 years later by Ken Jeong’s “Dr. What Pat Morita accomplished in the 1970s with the short-lived “Mr.

CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE TV

Ken” was a shticky network sitcom with the requisite smart-ass kids and put-upon spouse, and wacky and weird co-workers and in-laws who sling zingers and engage in routine setup-punchline repartee.īut, in the greater calculus of American network TV, that is what I call an achievement, a proof-of-concept that a sitcom with a primarily Asian American cast could be as conventional, middling and pedestrian as any other network TV offering! It was what people like me wanted and what was delivered. I didn’t, however, much care for some of the show’s characters in the protagonist’s actual family and work family.

casting ken park movie

Ken Park as a smarter and more competent Deputy Barney Fife was perfectly fine. Ken” with members of his TV family (from left): Dana Lee as father D.K., Suzy Nakamura as wife Allison, Albert Tsai as son Dave, and Krista Marie Yu as daughter Molly.Īll the actors were talented and versatile, and Jeong’s portrayal of Dr. Ken” - “Last Man Standing,” which starred Tim Allen - also got the axe.

casting ken park movie

CASTING KEN PARK MOVIE SERIES

Ken” lasted for two seasons! That’s good! Not only that, the series that preceded “Dr. Those shows that do make it to being aired can still have the plug pulled after just a couple of airings. Those that do get funding for a pilot get no further than that. Here’s the thing: Most ideas for TV shows don’t make the cut. Ken” on for two seasons is an outstanding accomplishment. Just getting a TV series produced and on the air is so tremendously difficult, having had “Dr. say, an episode of “Better Call Saul” on Netflix while washing those dishes.īut don’t get me wrong - I consider “Dr. It was not a show so compelling that I’d make it a point to watch it if I had a choice between watching an episode of it vs. (Same thing for “Fresh Off the Boat.”)īut now that it’s finished, I can say that “Dr. Since that has happened so few times, criticizing “Dr. In my many years of writing this column, I’ve been an advocate for not just including Asian Americans in ensemble casts in TV series, I’ve also been on the bandwagon for getting an Asian American to be the lead of a show. Ken,” I have an admission to make: I liked the idea of the show better than the show itself. Ken,” you may be wondering? It must be because there aren’t enough unwashed dishes, right? (By the way, am I the only one who equates leaving just-used plates, utensils and glasses in the sink for later equivalent to taking a dump and not flushing the toilet? Is it that hard to rinse off your stuff and put it in the dishwasher?! Or actually just hand-wash it?!! OK, deep breaths … think butterflies, think puppies. Why do I have 21 unwatched episodes of “Dr. The show, starring comedian and actual physician Ken Jeong, aired its season finale March 31. Ken,” which ABC recently announced was getting canceled. On my DVR, I have 21 unwatched episodes of “Dr. In practice, however, I only get to watch stuff when I’m stuck in one place doing chores like washing dishes. In theory, then, I can watch live TV and recorded shows, as well as the offerings from those aforementioned streaming services, anytime the mood strikes.

casting ken park movie

Having already paid for the DVR and Slingbox, it’s a cheaper scenario than cable - so while I don’t pay for cable TV, I do pay for the broadband (which I’d have to pay for anyway), which works out for me. On top of that, I also have Netflix and Amazon Prime Video subscriptions. The Slingbox also lets me watch live, over-the-air broadcast TV, again dependent upon a good Wi-Fi connection. I also have a Slingbox M-1, which allows me to watch shows I’ve recorded on said DVR, anywhere I happen to be (as long as there’s good Wi-Fi/wireless data connection), on my smartphone. It’s like a VCR for the era of digital TV. As a cable TV cord cutter, I have a Channel Master DVR+, a digital video recorder that allows me to record TV shows that were broadcast over the air.














Casting ken park movie